Golf in all 50 by 50: Hawai’i

In 2015, I came up with the goal of golfing in all 50 U.S. states by my 50th birthday.  I had golfed in six at the time (Illinois, Arizona, Oregon, Utah, Missouri and Kansas).  No parameters were set on the course type (I’m a budget traveler, and a budget golfer).  My thought is to play any available course, and maybe splurge a little on number 50.

2016 started with a January round in my seventh golfing state:  Hawai’i.  Golf in the Aloha State is not cheap and I didn’t take my clubs, so rentals added to the coast.  I was staying on the North Shore, and did a little research to find Kahuku Golf Course, which is under city and county ownership.

The course was a little rough in spots, however, it was RIGHT ON THE OCEAN!  Beautiful, beautiful spot for an affordable round of golf.

The beach was nearby and this marked my first round of golf with surfers walking thru the fairway!

A recent Business Journal article (Jan. 2017) says that the course and surrounding area was recently purchased by the local government, saving the area from development.  I’m thankful for this, as some of us hackers do not like paying big $ for golf while on vacation.

Nearby:  After your round, be sure to stop just down the street at Giovanni’s Shrimp Truck.  Yummy!

img_0786-2img_0778

Leave a Reply

